SSA Announces 12 New Compassionate Allowance Conditions

Last Updated on February 14, 2024 by Tresi Weeks

The Compassionate Allowances program helps the Social Security Administration (SSA) identify people living with rare and serious medical conditions that render patients disabled. This is particularly important to people who are looking for information about disabled adult child benefits. According to SSA Acting Commissioner Kilolo Kijakazi, the Compassionate Allowances program is the SSA’s way of “reducing barriers and ensuring people who are eligible for benefits receive them.”

The SSA added 12 new conditions to the program in August 2023. The following conditions now qualify for the Compassionate Allowances program:

  1. Ip36 Deletion Syndrome
  2. Anaplastic Ependymoma
  3. Calciphylaxis
  4. Cholangiocarcinoma
  5. FOXGI Syndrome
  6. Leber Congenital Amaurosis
  7. Metastatic Endometrial Adenocarcinoma
  8. Paraneoplastic Cerebellar Degeneration
  9. Pineoblastoma – Childhood
  10.  Primary Omental Cancer
  11. Sarcomatoid Carcinoma of the Lung – Stages II-IV
  12. Trisomy 9

A Special Needs Attorney Can Help You With Supported Decision Making

As our special needs attorneys advise clients, adding these conditions to the Compassionate Allowances list helps patients get the benefits they need more quickly. These conditions are rare and usually severe. The unpredictable nature of some of these illnesses makes fast approval of disability benefits more helpful to beneficiaries. Medical confirmation of one of these diagnoses is enough to qualify for Social Security disability benefits. Currently, 278 conditions qualify for Compassionate Allowances.

Communication resulting from use of this web site does not create an attorney-client relationship. You will need to meet with an attorney and sign a separate written retainer agreement.